A Bouquet of Nursing Awards

On The Quick

A Bouquet of Nursing Awards

Celebrating the recipients of the Rose and Daisy Awards

By Elizabeth Hanink
to Save

Two special awards were presented recently at Presbyterian Intercommunity Hospital (PIH) in Whittier. The 2011 Flo Scott Rose Award was presented to Debbie McKnight, RN, MSN, care coordinator, oncology. The Art of Caring Award was presented to Faye Munoz, RN, BSN, assistant clinical coordinator, med/surg.

Both awards honor nurses who “consistently demonstrate courageous and intentional actions on behalf of patients to ensure their safety and who listen to patients and their families to create positive outcomes.”

Each award includes a stipend of $6,000, a Tiffany bowl, and two dozen roses. The awards memorialize Flo and Frank Scott, who wanted to honor the caring that nurses show even by such simple acts as just listening.

A Family’s Thank You

Frank Scott was chairman of the PIH Foundation Board of Directors for almost two decades, and it was during his wife’s last illness that she told him of her desire to thank the nurses for all they did that went “above and beyond.” He established the Rose Award and the first was given in 2003. The Art of Caring Award is a gift to honor Scott on his 95th birthday and was established by the nonprofit Los Ayudantes. Before he died this year at the age of 96, Frank Scott had helped raise hundreds of thousands of dollars for nursing education at PIH.


Cristina Ramirez, Daisy Award winnerCongratulations to Cristina Ramirez, most recent winner of the DAISY Award for Extraordinary Nurses at White Memorial. DAISY is an acronym for diseases attacking the immune system. Ramirez is a staff nurse and received the award in June. “Daisy” is an acronym for “diseases attacking the immune system.” The foundation sponsoring the awards was instituted in 1999 by the family of J. Patrick Barnes, who died at the age of 33 from idiopathic thrombocytopenia purpura. His family sought to recognize the extraordinary care he received from nurses during his final hospitalization.

A Bouquet of Awards

There are three categories that recognize excellence in nursing:

1. Daisy Awards: honor the work of nurses every day at the bedside.
2. Daisy Faculty Awards: recognize teachers who promote excellence in bedside nursing.
3. J. Patrick Barnes Grants: fund nursing research and evidence-based practice programs.

Forty-seven schools of nursing participate in the awards, along with 880 facilities nationwide. You can help your hospital participate in this effort to acknowledge the hard work of bedside nursing by going to www.daisyfoundation.org for more information.The awards are individualized for each organization and, according to participants, do wonders for nursing staff morale.

This article is from workingnurse.com.

You might also like

On The Quick

Naloxone Manufacturers Donate 30,000 Free Doses

New surgeon general advisory

On The Quick

New Colorectal Cancer Screening Guidelines

American Cancer Society recommends starting at age 45 or younger

On The Quick

Few Men Seeking BRCA Cancer Screening

Breast cancer is a risk for men too

View all On The Quick Articles

Robert Noakes